MLS Golden Boot Winners

MLS Golden Boot Winners Since 2005: A Sneak Peek

MLS Golden Boot Winners: Here we take a look at the players who have bagged the prestigious honor in the league:

1. Carlos Vella

MLS Golden Boot Winners
Carlos Vella for Los Angeles FC | Image Credit: LA FC

Carlos Vella stands out on the list of Major League Soccer (MLS) Golden Boot Winners over the years. The Los Angeles FC player netted 34 goals in 31 games for the American club in the 2019-2020 season. His goal tally stands as the highest ever in a single season by a player in the MLS so far.

2. Josef Martinez

MLS Golden Boot Winners
Josef Martinez for Atalanta United | Image Credit: Sports Illustrated

Josef Martinez comes second on the list of the highest goal-scorers in a single MLS season. The player laced in 31 goals in 34 games for Atalanta United FC in the 2018-2019 season. His form in front of the goal in that campaign will always be remembered by the Atalanta fans.

3. Bradley Wright-Phillips

MLS Golden Boot Winners
Bradley Wright Phillips for New York Red Bulls | Image Credit: Major League Soccer

The New York Red Bulls veteran Bradley Wright-Phillips had two sensational seasons in terms of the MLS Golden Boot winners. Bradley won the prestigious honor twice during his MLS career. He grabbed the Golden Boot in the seasons 2014-2015 and 2016-2017. In both these seasons, he scored 27 and 24 goals, respectively.

4. Chris Wondoloski

MLS Golden Boot Winners
Chris Wondolowski for San Jose Earthquakes | Image Credit: Reddit

Chris Wondolowski bagged the MLS Golden Boot honor in two seasons of 2010-2011 and 2012-2013. The San Jose Earthquakes forward notched up 18 and 27 goals respectively in these two top-flight campaigns, which proved enough to hand him the Golden Boot on both occasions.

5. Nemanja Nikolic

MLS Golden Boot Winners
Nemanja Nikolic for Chicago Fire | Image Credit: ESPN

The Chicago Fire forward Nemanja Nikolic also managed to register his name among the MLS Golden Boot Winners. In the 2017-2018 season of the American top-flight football league, Nikolic scored 24 goals in 33 games to win the prestigious award outshining other goal-scorers in that season.

Table depicting the MLS Golden Boot Winners since 2005:

Player Name SeasonGoals Scored Club Matches Played
Denis Bouanga202320Los Angeles FC31
Hany Mukhtar202223Nashville SC33
Taty Castellanos202119New York City FC32
Diego Rossi202014Los Angeles FC19
Carlos Vella 201934Los Angeles FC31
Josef Martinez201831Atalanta United FC34
Nemanja Nikolic201724Chicago Fire33
Bradley Wright-Phillips 2016 24New York Red Bulls 34
Sebastian Giovinco201522Toronto FC33
Bradley Wright-Phillips 201427New York Red Bulls32
Camilo Sanvezzo201322Vancouver White Caps FC32
Chris Wondolowski201227San Jose Earthquakes32
Dwayne De Rossario201116DC United33
Chris Wondolowski201018San Jose Earthquakes28
Jeff Cunningham200917FC Dallas28
Landon Donovan200820Los Angeles Galaxy25
Luciano Emilio200720DC United 29
Jeff Cunningham200616Real Salt Lake31
Taylor Twellman200517New England Revolution 25

Also Read: