There was a lot of noise and confusion about an umpire’s decision during the Edgbaston Test between India and England. It all started with a delivery by Indian fast bowler Akash Deep as he clean bowled England star Joe Root. Soon after, a debate broke out over whether it was a legal delivery or a no-ball.
Advertisement
MCC Breaks Silence on Akash Deep No-Ball Fiasco During Edgbaston Test

Now, a few days later, after the Test match, the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), the guardian of cricket laws, has stepped in to clear the air and has confirmed that Akash Deep’s delivery was fair. MCC is responsible for all the cricket laws and changes to them. The MCC explained the rule in detail and ended the controversy.
MCC Breaks Silence on Akash Deep No Ball Joe Root Controversy
On Day 4 of the IND vs ENG 2nd Test at Edgbaston, Akash Deep bowled Joe Root with a beautiful ball that came in sharply. It was the second delivery of the tenth over. Root was beaten completely, and his stumps were shattered. It was a big moment for India.
But soon, television replays showed something unusual. Akash Deep’s back foot had landed wide on the crease. Some parts of his foot seemed to touch the ground outside the return crease, which led to a huge discussion. Many fans and commentators claimed it should have been called a no-ball.
Some commentators on live TV said it looked like a clear no-ball. Former England batter Jonathan Trott also felt the same. He said during a studio show on JioStar that Deep had overstepped the line with his back foot.
However, not everyone agreed. Former India coach and commentator Ravi Shastri called it a legal delivery. The on-field umpires Chris Gaffaney and Sharfuddoula Saikat did not raise any concern over the Akash Deep No Ball Joe Root controversy. And third umpire Paul Reiffel, who checks for no-balls, did not intervene. Root had to walk back, and the game went on.
MCC No Ball Rules Explained
A few days later, after the end of the Test match, the MCC released an official statement. They said that the decision not to call a no-ball was absolutely correct. According to the MCC no ball rules, this is in question for Law 21.5.1 of the Laws of Cricket. It says: “For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride the bowler’s back foot must land within and not touching the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery.”
The MCC said that the key moment is when the foot first lands on the ground. If the first point of contact is inside the return crease, then the delivery is legal. Even if the foot slides outside the crease afterward, it does not matter.
A spokesperson from the MCC said, “MCC has always defined the moment the back foot lands as the first point of contact with the ground.” They added, “At the point Deep’s foot first touched the ground, the back foot was within and not touching the return crease. That makes it a legal delivery.”
With the MCC’s clear explanation, the controversy has now ended. The wicket of Joe Root was a major moment in the match. It left England struggling at 50 for 3 while chasing a massive target of 608 runs. England ended Day 4 at 72 for 3. On the final day, India bowled them out for just 271 and won the match by a huge margin of 336 runs. This victory helped them level the five-match Test series 1-1.
Advertisement
FAQs
What Happened during IND vs ENG 2nd Test on Akash Deep’s delivery?
+
What Happened during IND vs ENG 2nd Test on Akash Deep’s delivery?
On Day 4 of the second Test at Edgbaston, Akash Deep bowled Joe Root with a beautiful ball that came in sharply. However, his back foot had landed wide on the crease. Some parts of his foot seemed to touch the ground outside the return crease.
Conversation
(0 Comments)
Editor's Pick