List Of Premier League Champions from 1992-2023

List Of Premier League Champions from 1992-2023

The English Premier League, widely known as EPL, is arguably the most popular soccer league in the world. Since its inception in 1992, the top flight of England has evolved into a global brand, attracting millions of fans and viewers from across the world.

According to the World of Statistics, EPL is the most-watched sports league on earth, making it a profit-generating machine. Over the past 31 years, the English top flight has seen only seven champions, showcasing how tough it is to win the football league, and indicating the rich footballing history in the UK.

Manchester City are the current champions of the English Premier League, having won the league title for the last three consecutive years after Liverpool lifted the trophy in the 2019-20 season. The modern English Premier League list of champions isn’t so long because of the consistency shown by several big clubs throughout the decades. In this article, we’ll provide a detailed English Premier League List of Champions since 1992.

English Premier League List of Champions

1st season (1992-93):

Man Utd in 1992
(Credits: Getty)
Manchester United during their ’92 EPL win (Credits: Getty)

 Manchester United (Winners), | Aston Villa (Runners-up)

2nd season (1993-94):

Manchester United (Winners), | Blackburn Rovers (Runners-up)

3rd season (1994-95):

Blackburn Rovers during their 1995 PL win
(Credits: Getty)
The golden era of Blackburn Rovers (Credits: Getty)

Blackburn Rovers (Winners), | Manchester United (Runners-up)

Also Read: Arsenal and Manchester United Eye Real Madrid’s Rodrygo in Summer Transfer Window

4th season (1995-96):

Manchester United (Winners), | Newcastle United (Runners-up)

5th  season (1996-97):

Manchester United (Winners), | Newcastle United (Runners-up)

6th season (1997-98):

Arsenal (winners), | Manchester United (Runners-up)

7th season (1998-99):

Manchester United (Winners), | Arsenal (Runners-up)

8th season (1999-2000):

Manchester United (Winners), | Arsenal (Runners-up)

9th season (2000-01):

Manchester United (Winners), | Arsenal (Runners-up)

10th season (2001-02):

Arsenal's Invincible PL Winners in 2001 (Credits: Getty)
Arsenal’s Invincible EPL Winners (Credits: Getty)

Arsenal (winners), | Liverpool (Runners-up)

11th season (2002-03):

Manchester United (Winners), | Arsenal (Runners-up)

12th season (2003-04):

Arsenal (Winners), | Chelsea (Runners-up)

13th season (2004-05):

Jose Mourinho's batch of 2005 (Credits: Getty)
Jose Mourinho’s batch of 2005 EPL winners (Credits: Getty)

Chelsea (Winners), | Arsenal (Runners-up)

14th season (2005-06):

Chelsea (Winners), | Manchester United (Runners-up)

15th season (2006-07):

Manchester United (Winners), | Chelsea (Runners-up)

16th season (2007-08):

Manchester United (Winners), | Chelsea (Runners-up)

17th season (2008-09):

United's EPL win
(Credits: Getty)
Vidic, Van Der Sar and Ferdinand (Credits: Getty)

Manchester United (Winners), | Liverpool (Runners-up)

18th season (2009-10):

Chelsea (Winners), | Manchester United (Runners-up)

19th season (2010-11):

Manchester United (Winners), | Chelsea (Runners-up)

20th season (2011-12):

Man City's first PL title win
(Credits: Getty)
Manchester City’s historic 2011 EPL win (Credits: Getty)

Manchester City (Winners), | Manchester United (Runners-up)

21st season (2012-13):

Manchester United (Winners),| Manchester City (Runners-up)

22nd season (2013-14):

Manchester City (Winners),| Liverpool (Runners-up)

23rd season (2014-15):

Chelsea (Winners), | Manchester City (Runners-up)

24th season (2015-16):

Leicester City (Winners), | Arsenal (Runners-up)

25th season (2016-17):

Chelsea (Winners), | Tottenham Hotspur (Runners-up)

26th season (2017-18):

Man City's Vincent Kompany led Centurions celebrate PL Win (Credits: Getty)
Man City’s EPL Centurions (Credits: Getty)

Manchester City (Winners), | Manchester United (Runners-up)

27th season (2018-19):

Manchester City (Winners), | Liverpool (Runners-up)

28th season (2019-20):

Liverpool's one and only EPL win in 2020 (Credits: Getty)
Jordan Henderson leading Liverpool’s only EPL win in 2020 (Credits: Getty)

Liverpool (Winners),| Manchester City (Runners-up)

29th season (2020-21):

Manchester City (Winners), | Manchester United (Runners-up)

30th season (2021-22):

Manchester City (Winners), | Liverpool (Runners-up)

31st season (2022-23):

Manchester City's treble winners (Credits: Getty)
Manchester City’s treble winners (Credits: Getty)

Manchester City (Winners), | Arsenal (Runners-up)

Since 1992, 51 different soccer clubs have had the opportunity to play in the English Premier League at some stage. Despite the difficulty of making a statement in the league, only seven clubs have been able to make their way to the top so far and lift the most prestigious soccer league title. Clubs such as Manchester United, Man City, and Arsenal have etched their names in the history book of the Premier League by winning the silver crown numerous times. Now, here we have taken a closer look at how many times these top clubs became Premier League champions over the years.

Premier League Champions List (No. of Titles)

5. Liverpool: 1 title

4. Arsenal: 3 titles

3. Chelsea: 5 titles

2. Manchester City: 7 titles

1. Manchester United: 13 titles

The history of the Premier League is rich and eventful as its journey began in the 19th century in the UK. Before the inception of the EPL, the UK’s only league was known as the Football League which began in 1888. At that time, the earned revenue from the weekly games was to be distributed among all 92 teams in the country, a system that made it nearly impossible to offer special remuneration to the big and renowned clubs.

Following a series of meetings between 1981 and 1988, the league management decided to build a first-division league, separated from the original Football League, initially consisting of 22 teams, which was later reduced to 20 clubs in 1995.

Also Read: Fabrizio Romano trashes rumours about Conor Gallagher demanding ” too high salary” to stay at Chelsea