Why did referee disallow Xavi Simons’ goal against France?

Why did the referee disallow Xavi Simons’ goal against France?

Netherlands’ Xavi Simons thought he gave his national side the lead when he opened the scoring against France in the 69th minute. Simons lashed in a rebound after Mike Maignan saved an effort from Memphis Depay.

The Dutch side were celebrating with the 21-year-old attacker until the goal was ruled out by VAR as referee Anthony Taylor and the linesman after a lengthy conversation on the sidelines.

Why was the goal disallowed?

The Netherlands squad were all convinced when 21-year-old Xavi Simons found the back of the net to give Ronald Koeman’s side a lead in the 69th minute of the game.

The PSG attacker struck a shot into the bottom right corner of the goal after a rebound from a Memphis Depay attempt. However, the goal stood out as Denzil Dumfries stood in an offside position in between the goalkeeper Mike Maginan obstructing his line of vision.

After a lengthy conversation with the Video Assistant Referee (VAR), match referee Anthony Taylor concluded that Denzel Dumfries was in an offside position and impeded the French goalkeeper blocking his line of vision.

Manager Ronald Koeman was left furious after the English referee ruled out the match-winner against France and believes the goal should have stood.

“I think the position of Dumfries is offside but he isn’t disturbing the goalkeeper. When that happens it is a legal goal in my opponent,” said Koeman.

“Also you need five minutes to check it? I don’t understand this.”

Also Read: Scotland vs Hungary: Preview, Prediction, Lineups and Team News | Euro 2024