Why was Axel Disasi’s goal against Burnley ruled out by VAR?

Why was Axel Disasi’s goal against Burnley ruled out by VAR?

Chelsea were held to a 2-2 home draw by a 10-man Burnley side continuing their erratic form in the Premier League. The outcome led to boos from home fans at the final whistle.

Blues defender Axel Disasi, who scored a disastrous own-goal against Leicester City before the international break found himself in another controversial decision where he saw his goal disallowed against Burnley on Saturday evening.

The French defender thought he gave Chelsea the lead after he hit the ball in the back of the net from Mykhailo Mudryk’s cross with a header. But his effort was ruled out by VAR as he handled the ball in the build-up.

Also Read: Chelsea vs Burnley Player Ratings

Why was Axel Disasi’s goal ruled out by VAR?

Chelsea forward Mykhailo Mudryk swung a ball at the far post for Disasi to head it but the French defender’s elbow got more of the ball than his head. The Frenchman’s celebration was short-lived as the Video Assistant Referee (VAR) intervened as the ball looked to have come off his elbow.

In the replay, it showed that the ball made contact with Disasi’s arm while leading up into the back of the net. Many fans and pundits disagreed with the VAR decision as they believed the contact was unintentional.

Many fans across the globe have criticized the lack of transparency in VAR which was introduced with the idea of maintaining accuracy and fairness in decision-making. The decisions often take too long, disrupting the flow and rhythm of the game.