Austria Squad for Euro 2024: Captain David Alaba left out of provisional squad

Captain David Alaba left out from Austria Squad for Euro 2024

Austrian manager Ralf Rangnick has announced the provisional squad for the upcoming European Championships on Tuesday. National team captain David Alaba has been left out of the squad but the Real Madrid defender will travel with the team to Germany as the ‘non-playing captain’

David Alaba had a rupture in his ACL and underwent surgery on his left knee that ruled him out for the remainder of the campaign and the 2024 European Championship.

The former Bayern Munich defender who participated in Austria’s last two Euro appearances in 2016 and 2020 was the big name missing from the 2024 Austria Euro 2024 squad.

But manager Ralf Ragnick has confirmed that the defender will tag along with the traveling squad to Germany as a ‘non-playing captain.’

“It is a great shame of course that he isn’t available to us as a player. Over the last weeks I’ve have had close exchanges with David. He stressed he wanted very much to still be with us,” Rangnick said.

“Therefore, I am very happy to say this will be possible after a good discussion with his club Real Madrid.”

Austria Squad for Euro 2024: Who will be going to Euros this summer?

Das Team has qualified for the European Championships for the third time in a row. They are arguably in one of the toughest Euro 2024 groups as they will face France, Netherlands, and Poland in Group D. Ralf Ragnick’s finished second to Belgium in Group F of the European qualifiers.

Midfielder Xaver Schlager and first-choice goalkeeper Alexander Schlager are other notable absentees from the squad.

Goalkeepers: Niklas Hedl (Rapid Vienna), Tobias Lawal (Linz), Heinz Lindner (Union Saint-Gilloise), Patrick Pentz (Brondby)

Defenders: Flavius Daniliuc (Red Bull Salzburg), Kevin Danso (Lens), Stefan Lainer (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Philipp Lienhart (Freiburg), Phillipp Mwene (Mainz), Stefan Posch (Bologne), Leopold Querfeld (Rapid Vienna), Gernot Trauner (Feyenoord), Maximilian Wober (Borussia Moenchengladbach)

Midfielders: Thierno Ballo (Wolfsberg), Christoph Baumgartner (RB Leipzig), Florian Grillitsch (Hoffenheim), Marco Grull (Rapid Vienna), Florian Kainz (Cologne), Konrad Laimer (Bayern Munich), Alexander Prass (Sturm Graz), Marcel Sabitzer (Borussia Dortmund), Romano Schmid (Werder Bremen), Matthias Seidl (Rapid Vienna), Nicolas Seiwald (RB Leipzig), Patrick Wimmer (Wolfsburg)

Forwards: Marko Arnautovic (Inter Milan), Maximilian Entrup (Hartberg), Michael Gregoritsch (Freiburg), Andreas Weimann (West Bromwich Albion)