Brazil 2024 Copa America squad

Brazil announce provisional squad for the 2024 Copa America with no Casemiro, Richarlison, Neymar jr and Gabriel Jesus on the list

The nine-time champions Brazil submitted their provisional squad for this year’s edition of Copa America. Some notable names are included to the list which could still be revised before mid-June when the kick off underways.

There are some ‘regular names’ missing from the list including two London-based teams forwards Gabriel Jesus (Arsenal) and Richarlison (Tottenham Hotspur). Manchester United’s Casemiro has not also been included in the squad managed by Dorival Junior.

These players have struggled to gain a place in the first team with their respective clubs due to both injuries and consistency. This might be the reason why Junior doesn’t want to gamble with them and gives opportunities for younger players instead. 

Brazil Copa America Squad: Dorival Juniors gives the opportunities for younger players

Andreas Pereira started to gain trust from the national team coach since Junior was in charge. The Fulham midfielder returned to Selecao in March after spending six years away from the radar, missing two Copa Americas (2019 and 2021) and one World Cup in 2022. 

The in-hype striker Endrick gained another call-up from Junior. He would have an international tournament debut this year after showing an impressive display during the March international.

The summer of 2024 could be an important phase for Endrick in his career as the Palmeiras forward would also join Real Madrid starting from next season. Before training in Valdebebas, Endrick would spend time with two Madrid’s forwards Vinicius Junior and Rodrygo in the national team. 

Another anticipated player in the squad is Newcastle United’s Bruno Guimaraes. The in-form midfielder appeared in 34 league games, scoring six times and helped The Magpies compete in the league’s mid table. 

Here are the complete list of the latest Brazil call-up for the 2024 Copa America:

Alisson (Liverpool), Bento (Atlético Paranaense), Ederson (Manchester City).

Beraldo (PSG), Eder Militão (Real Madrid), Gabriel Magalhães (Arsenal), Marquinhos (PSG), Danilo (Juventus), Yan Couto (Girona), Guilherme Arana (Atlético Mineiro), Wendell (Porto).

Andreas Pereira (Fulham), Bruno Guimaraes (Newcastle United), Douglas Luiz (Aston Villa), Joao Gomes (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Lucas Paqueta (West Ham United).

Endrick (Palmeiras), Evanilson (Porto), Gabriel Martinelli (Arsenal), Raphinha (Barcelona), Rodrygo (Real Madrid), Savinho (Girona), Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid).