Jude Bellingham's Penalty

WATCH: Jude Bellingham’s penalty appeal denied during Real Madrid vs Bayern Munich

Jude Bellingham’s penalty appeal denied

Real Madrid star Jude Bellingham’s appeal for a penalty in the early stages of the second leg against Bayern Munich was denied by the referee. VAR also checked the incident and was quick to stick with the on-field call as they did not see any significant contact. 

In the fifth minute of the match, Dani Carvajal whipped in a superb cross, but it sailed across the Bayern Munich box after missing everyone inside. The ball was kept in play, and Bellingham drove into the box towards Konrad Laimer.

However, before he could get near the Austrian, Joshua Kimmich charged in from the left side and made a slight contact with Bellingham. The Real Madrid star hit the ground immediately and was demanding a penalty from the referee. 

Polish referee Szymon Marciniak did not see the contact enough to bring down the Englishman and waved away the foul. VAR quickly checked the incident and cleared it as there was nothing much to inspect. 

Former Chelsea star Pat Nevin was on BBC Radio 5 Live during the match and was quick to back the decision from the referee. He claimed that the former Borussia Dortmund star threw himself on the ground and said:

“We had a conversation last night, and we mentioned that Jude Bellingham throws himself down. He’s done it again, he has 100% done it again, throws himself down, and says there is contact. No, he initiates the contact there. Well done referee, he got that one right.”

Real Madrid and Bayern Munich were locked at 0-0 during halftime, and 2-2 on aggregate. The home side dominated the chances in the first half and would be questioning how they did not get the lead. 

The winner of today’s semifinal will face Borussia Dortmund in the final after the Bundesliga side defeated PSG on Tuesday. 

Also Read: