PSG vs Dortmund Penalty Drama

Why Was PSG Not Awarded a Penalty Against Dortmund?

Trailing two goals on aggregate, at home, in the Champions League semi-final, Paris Saint-Germain were going all out to get a goal. Ousmane Dembele was penetrating into Borussia Dortmund’s box in the 65th minute when Mats Hummels stopped him with a tackle. 

It was just a whisker away from the inside of the box but the referee was pointing at the spot initially. However, seconds later the referee, Daniele Orsato, corrected his own decision and decided it was a free-kick. He then booked Mats Hummels for the challenge and the game proceeded.

PSG vs Dortmund Penalty Drama: Should it be a penalty for PSG?

According to the law of the game, which is Laws 12 and 13, the direct free kick could be rewarded with one condition. It is a penalty if the incident entirely happened inside their penalty area.

In this case, the replay showed that Hummels was still outside the box when he dangled his leg to Dembele’s. This might be the reason why Orsato decided to cancel the penalty reward and take it as a free-kick instead. 

As this piece was written, PSG were struggling to break the Dortmund’s defensive unit. Die Borussen manager Edin Terzic started to play defensive as he replaced Jadon Sancho with Niklas Sule. 

PSG carried on and set Dortmund’s box under siege with their players surrounding the area. The home side have to score three goals or at least two goals to extend the game into extra time.