The only-four teams to ever win invincibles in Europe

Who are the only four teams to finish as invincibles?

Bayer Leverkusen shook the world after showing no signs of losing a single game in this year’s first quarter. No matter how long they got in behind, the Xabi Alonso-led squad always found a way to equalise or even to overturn the score. 

Leverkusen secured the title with five games to go after beating Werder Bremen five goals to nil away. Die Werkself went to complete the unbeaten season after beating Augsburg in their final league game this season at home. 

The Europe’s invincible quartet

An invincible season is not the first time in Europe with some clubs having done it in the past. Before Leverkusen, one thing that comes to mind when putting ‘invincible’ into discussion may be Arsenal.

Arsenal won the 2003/04 season without a single loss. Thierry Henry-equipped squad earned 26 wins and 12 draws throughout the season, leading 11 points ahead of Chelsea at the second place. It has been 20 years since The Gunners did it and this season they’re hoping to end the drought. 

If Arsenal are still the only English side to win an invincible, that is not the case with Italian football. Serie A already has two unbeaten champions in history with AC Milan and Juventus winning it in a 20 years gap in between. Back in the 2011/12 season, Juventus brought the trophy back to Turin after eight years after winning 23 games and drawing 15 times.

Bianconeri actually won it for two consecutive seasons in 2005 and 2006 but later stripped off due to the calciopoli scandal. The 2012/12 season league title marked Juventus’ domination for the next nine years, winning it up until the 2019/20 season. The following season started Juve’s downfall in Serie A with failing to win the title since then. 

AC Milan
In the 90’s, AC Milan became the first Italian team to win the league unbeaten. Fabio Capello-led team went to collect 56 points with eight-point clear to Juventus at the second. Milan then went on to complete a hat-trick of winning after being crowned champions every season until the 1993/94 season.


Next matches