Italy were 2020 Euro champions

UEFA Euro Winners List from 1960

The UEFA Euro is one of the most popular international football competitions in the world, second only to the FIFA World Cup. It comprises teams from Europe to compete for a trophy at the end. The teams go through the qualifying stage to reach the finals.

The tournament was previously called the European Nations Cup but was rebranded in 1968 as UEFA Euro. It takes place after every four years. The Euro 2020 took place in 2021 due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

With the Euro 2024 set to start in June 2024, let’s take a look at the teams with most UEFA EURO wins as in the history of competition:

Germany (3 Titles)

Germany 1996 (Pic credits: UEFA)

The hosts for Euro 2024 top the UEFA Euro winners list with three titles to their name. West Germany first won the title in 1972 beating USSR 3-0 in the final before beating Belgium 2-1 in the 1980 final. Germany then secured their last Euro title in 1996, beating the Czech Republic 2-1 on a golden goal in the final.

Germany have had a tough time in recent times but will hope to put up a good showing at their home Euros under Julian Nagelsmann.

Also Read: A tactical preview for Portugal National Football Team playing in EURO 2024

Spain (3 Titles)

Spain became UEFA Euro champions
Spain became UEFA Euro champions again in 2012 (Pic credits: DW)

Spain are tied with Germany on the UEFA Euro winners list with three titles. Their first title came back in 1964 as they beat USSR 2-1 in the final. Their other two trophies were much more recent though – a 1-0 win over Germany in the 2008 final and a 4-0 win over Italy in 2012.

Spain have also struggled since their golden generation with the likes of Sergio Ramos, Sergio Busquets, and Andres Iniesta went into the twilight of their careers. Their younger generation will hope to pull them back to their glory days.

Italy (2 Titles)

Italy 2020 (pic credits: Getty)

Italy have been the UEFA Euro champions two times in their history. They beat Yugoslavia 2-0 in the final in 1968. They then beat England on penalties in England in the last edition of the Euros (Euro 2020).

Italy have also struggled in recent years and failed to even qualify for the 2022 FIFA World Cup. However, they will look to defend their Euro crown in Germany later this month.

France (2 Titles)

France 2000 (Pic credits: Getty)

France beat Spain 2-0 in the final to win their first UEFA Euro title in 1984. They then got past Italy 2-1 on golden goal in 2000 to win their second. They reached the final in 2016 but lost against Portugal.

Les Bleus are widely regarded as the favorites to win the title this year. They have an excellent squad and reached the final of the 2022 FIFA World Cup, losing against Argentina in the final. They will look to add a third UEFA Euro title to their cabinet.

Netherlands (1 Title)

Netherlands 1988
Netherlands 1988 (Pic credits: UEFA)

The Netherlands are tied with multiple other teams in the list of UEFA Euro winners with one title. Their only win came in 1988 when they beat USSR in the final.

The Netherlands have had many good teams over the years but failed to win the tournament. They reached the 2010 FIFA World Cup final but lost against Spain.

UEFA EURO Winners List

Let’s take a look at the list of UEFA Euro Cup winners and runner-ups since 1960:

1996GermanyCzech Republic
1988NetherlandsSoviet Union
1972GermanySoviet Union
1964SpainSoviet Union
1960Soviet UnionYugoslavia


Q. Who has won the most Euro titles in history?

A. Germany and Spain are tied at three wins each.

Q. Who won the last men’s Euros?

A. Italy won the title in Euro 2020, beating England in the final.

Q. How many times have France won the Euros?

A. France have won Euros two times – in 1984 and 200.

Q. How many times have Germany won the Euros?

A. Three times – 1972, 1980, and 1996.

Also Read: Netherlands Squad for Euro 2024: Ronald Koeman drops Atalanta’s midfielder due to injury